Not a natural born Cyclist

Unlike a lot of people in this community I didn’t start riding a bike when I was a kid apart from a three wheeler which was similar to this one except mine was red and had what I can only describe as a bread bin shape container on the back for putting items. The container was approximately 20 inches across by 12 inches high. It was fitted with a proper bike chain. I remember riding it around the garden in the the late 50s but it possibly dated back earlier than that.


I didn’t learn to ride a bike till I was about 14, I remember a mate from school said to have a go on his bike, we was in a park at the top of a hill I got on and went down the hill coming off a few times, then bingo I managed it.

In about 1968 I was riding to work on my bike I stupidly had a bag hanging from the handlebars which caught in my front wheel over the bars I went, I ended up in the casualty department of Bollingbrooke Hospital just a few cuts and bruises no broken bones.

In the 80s I purchased a Tony Doyle Viscount Road bike to be honest I don’t remember riding it that much.


Move on to August 2009 I bought off ebay my £56 cheapo Mountain Bike


The idea being to use the bike for my very short commute to work less than two miles but that was it I was bitten by the cycling bug. In January 2010 I purchased my Scott Sub 10. As they say the rest is history.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tim
    Sep 24, 2010 @ 22:00:09

    I had a tricycle like that!! it was red. I remember my dad getting a new axle made at work, not sure what was wrong with the old one. I remember having it when were at my nans, that makes me about 4 and I can remember my 2 younger sisters and two younger brothers having the tricycle handed down to them. Must have had it for about 20 years

    Reply

  2. Toby Field
    Sep 25, 2010 @ 07:04:52

    Thanks for sharing Les.

    Reply

  3. KungFooSausage
    Sep 27, 2010 @ 12:41:23

    I also had a trike like that – proper chain etc. I expect there is a photo of me on it somewhere but my sister has all the old photos right now and shes in Nigeria. Apparently my dad burried the trike in the back garden when I was old enough to ride a two wheeler with stabilisers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

