Met up with Toby afterwards I done 29.79 and cracked 30mph

Got up at six this morning so I could meet up with Toby

Had a bowl of porridge had a shower got myself ready.

The journey to Crystal palace is just over four miles, but there are a couple of steep hills, I must admit these beat me twice, got of and pushed twice I am afraid to say.

Eventually got there met up with Toby and his mate, who are taking part in the London to Hastings charity Bike Ride.


We chatted for about twenty minutes before they went to the start line


Route to Crystal Palace

I bid them farewell, I decided that I would cycle into Bromley it was on the steep decent from Crystal Palace I managed to crack 30 mph first time ever to be more accurate it was 30.07, as you get close to Bromley there is another steep climb once again another defeat, another pushing the bike uphill. That just sounds so wrong.

Route to Bromley

One of the reasons for cycling to Bromley was because I wanted to go to the Giant cycle store. Before trying to find the store I saw a costa coffee, Where I had coffee and an almond Croissant.


While drinking my coffee I found out that the Giant store doesn’t open on a Sunday, but decided I would still look for it. After my refuel cycled of in search of the Giant store, I saw a policeman on a Mountain bike asked if he knew where it was. He replied no idea I told him the name of the road better success now, he directed me to the road. Anyway I found The Giant Cycle store


Bit small ain’t it !! but I suspect it will be like Pearson Cycles in Sutton. Will have to pay another visit when it is open.

Decided that I would make my way home via Croydon where I stopped at Evans Cycles to pick up another set of Cateye SL120 Orbit Spoke lights to go on my mountain Bike. Two more stops before home my B&Q to pick up some white cable ties to secure the spoke lights to make them a bit harder to steal, well thats my theory. Then from there a quick stop at Asda’s for provisions for dinner tonight.

Bit disappointed on three hill failures but pleased that finally cracked the 30mph mark also pleased with the distance I covered today. 29.79 to go onto my August 150 still not enough though 😦

Route Home

Toby’s Just Giving Page

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tammi
    Aug 29, 2010 @ 16:25:18

    You did great Dad don’t be so down on yourself!
    Looks like you had a good morning 🙂 xxxx

    Reply

  2. Matt
    Aug 29, 2010 @ 20:47:36

    Dont be hard on yourself mate, it is a bugger to get off and walk, but Rafe and JB tell me (often) to go back to those hills in a few months and see if they are easier, it will just show how fitter you are getting.

    That snack from Costa looked a bit good too!

    Reply

  3. Toby Field
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 18:50:28

    It was good meeting you again Les. Just writing my report on the London to Hastings.

    Cable ties to make those lights harder to steal? Only a gay bike rider would steal them 😉 lol

    Reply

  4. John Berry
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 07:07:21

    Don’t feel bad about getting off and walking…it’s better to stay fit and healthy and fight another day than it is to struggle and strain and break something!

    Also don’t forget you are dragging a heavy MTB with knobbly tyres up a busy road…..

    You did well 🙂 It never gets easier…it just gets a bit quicker…

    Reply

  5. lezzzzzz (The Moonwalking Bear)
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 07:22:40

    Thanks John for the encouragement much appreciated mate.

    Its not on my MTB tho its on my Scott sub 10 which is about 10 pound lighter.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

