My cycle to North London and back

Well I left home just after four weather was bright and quite warm, a journey of about just over thirteen miles. I took my usual route as if going to Balham across Tooting Bec Common, up to Clapham Common, there is a cycle lane that cuts right through the common which is such a joy to use. When you reach the end of the cycle lane at Cedars Road Clapham there are Traffic lights that allows cyclist safely back onto the road, whoever designed this a big thumbs up.

Bandstand Clapham Common

From there it was down past Battersea Park opposite Battersea Park is the home of the shopping channel

QVC

Over Chelsea Bridge onto Grosvenor Road passing

Battersea Power Station

Down to Parliament Square passing

Westminster Abbey

Big Ben and the Palace of Westminster

Where I worked for Royal Mail in 1969/70 as a messenger boy
Down past

Horseguards Parade

Up the Mall coming out at

Trafalgar Square

Camden Lock

Docking Station London Cycle Hire Scheme

By now as you can imagine the roads were very congested sailed through the traffic without incident the journey took with all the stops for picture-taking just over one and a half hours.

Route to North London and stats Here

Left North London at about 9.45pm the weather when I left was fine but about three miles from home it started to rain fairly heavily, I decided if I had stopped to put on my light waterproof jacket I would be soaked already. The journey back took just about an hour and quarter

It had been a goal of mine to cycle over to North London to see if I could achieve this distance in one go. Well to be honest I managed it without any aches or pains.

I am very pleased about completing this trip, plus it has added some much-needed miles to the August 150

Route Home and stats Here

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. KungFooSausage
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 10:20:00

    wow nice ride and great pictures. Lucky with the rain only starting so close from home. BTW Ive asked Ben if he wants to go to the Cycle Show in October and he said yes so we can meet up and have a drink if youre there mate πŸ™‚ Maybe some others will come along too.

    Reply

  2. KungFooSausage
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 16:57:21

    Yeah I cant make it as my I have to help my eldest son sort stuff out for his university the following week. Chances are its going to be a loooong weekend as I doubt if hes thought of half the stuff he needs so we have to go spend (my) money!

    Reply

  3. KungFooSausage
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 21:32:23

    Hes doing a 4 year teaching course at Wolverhampton Uni. At least hes only a couple of hours drive away if he needs us to go up for anything. Salfords a fair bit further. My sons not quite shitting bricks, but give him another week and he will be I bet lol.

    Reply

    • lezzzzzz (The Moonwalking Bear)
      Aug 19, 2010 @ 21:49:24

      Yeah Salford is a fair way I drove up there this year when all the snow came down took us ages to get back, drove up later in the year planned to meet up with Joby but took a lot longer than I had planned so didn’t happen, he gets back for a lot of the home matches and if there is an away game nearby we see him there as well.

      When your son gets there he will love it make loads of new friends from all over the country.

      Reply

  4. @phillconnell
    Aug 20, 2010 @ 11:44:08

    Looks like a lovely ride mate. I need to vary my rides a bit more because if I post any more pics of Hollingworth Lake the local tourist board might take out an injunction. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  5. massivemtber
    Aug 20, 2010 @ 13:41:57

    Brilliant pedal, cracking write up and pics too Bear!

    Reply

  6. lezzzzzz(The Moonwalking Bear)
    Aug 20, 2010 @ 15:15:21

    Thanks Clive

    Reply

  7. welshcyclist
    Aug 21, 2010 @ 11:21:29

    Just discovered your blog via KungFooSausage, really impressed with it’s layout etc., what’s more enjoyed reading your posts, and looking at your photos, thanks for sharing them.

    Reply

Leave a comment